Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Naropin (Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection) in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Naropin: in shortage (FDA, Oct 24)

Injections (vials)
A generic injection, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Delay in shipping of the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Demand increase for the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated recovery: TBD”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, Oct 15, 2026
DRUG
Naropin
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Mar 23, 2018
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 19, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 49 presentations: 13 unavailable · 2 limited · 34 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection. 49 presentations from 5 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Caplin Steriles, Ltd.4 presentations · 2 limited · 2 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-229-0001

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-015-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter

    NDC 43066-015-10Reverified

    Limited Availability

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-023-10)

    Limited supply; Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter

    NDC 43066-023-10Reverified

    Limited Availability

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-027-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter

    NDC 43066-027-10Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 43066-019-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory; Marketed by Baxter

    NDC 43066-019-10Reverified

    Available

Eugia US LLC7 presentations · 2 unavailable · 5 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-238-7880

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-195-20)

    On backorder. Recovery: TBD. Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-195-20Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-199-20)

    On backorder. Recovery: TBD. Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-199-20Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-200-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-200-10Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-201-20)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-201-20Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-196-99)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-196-99Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-197-20)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-197-20Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-198-30)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-198-30Reverified

    Available

Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC22 presentations · 10 unavailable · 12 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-386-1300

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-10)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-288-10Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-20)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-288-20Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-10)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-285-10Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-13)

    Next release not available at this time. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 63323-285-13Revised

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-20)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-285-20Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-61)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-285-61Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-63)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-285-63Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-20)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-286-20Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-31)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-286-31Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-287-20)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-287-20Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-11)

    NDC 63323-288-11Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-288-21)

    NDC 63323-288-21Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-23)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-285-23Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-64)

    NDC 63323-285-64Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-285-65)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-285-65Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 65219-632-10)

    NDC 65219-632-10Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 65219-632-20)

    NDC 65219-632-20Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-00)

    NDC 63323-286-00Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-23)

    NDC 63323-286-23Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-35)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-286-35Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-286-63)

    NDC 63323-286-63Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Naropin, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-287-21)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-287-21Reverified

    Available

InfoRLife SA6 presentations · 1 unavailable · 5 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): Sagent: 866-625-1618

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-67)

    Estimated recovery: TBD; Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

    NDC 25021-671-67Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-66)

    Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

    NDC 25021-671-66Revised

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-82)

    Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

    NDC 25021-671-82Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-671-87)

    Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

    NDC 25021-671-87Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-652-82)

    Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

    NDC 25021-652-82Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-652-87)

    Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals

    NDC 25021-652-87Reverified

    Available

Somerset Therapeutics, LLC10 presentations · 10 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 732-554-1037

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-067-10)

    NDC 70069-067-10Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-067-25)

    NDC 70069-067-25Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-061-10)

    NDC 70069-061-10Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-061-25)

    NDC 70069-061-25Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-062-10)

    NDC 70069-062-10Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-062-25)

    NDC 70069-062-25Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-063-25)

    NDC 70069-063-25Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-064-01)

    NDC 70069-064-01Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-064-10)

    NDC 70069-064-10Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Ropivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-064-25)

    NDC 70069-064-25Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Eugia US LLC · ‘On backorder. Recovery: TBD. Check wholesalers for inventory’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Estimated recovery: TBD’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Next release not available at this time. Check wholesalers for inventory.’ · updated Oct 2026
  • InfoRLife SA · ‘Estimated recovery: TBD; Marketed by Sagent Pharmaceuticals’ · updated Oct 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Delay in shipping of the drug
  • Demand increase for the drug
  • Other

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Naropin in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Ropivacaine Hydrochloride Injection as currently in shortage: 49 presentations, 13 unavailable and 2 limited.
When will the Naropin shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 10 presentations carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Naropin?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.