Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Dilaudid (Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection) in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Dilaudid: in shortage (FDA, Oct 24)

Injections (vials)
A generic injection, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Demand increase for the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Other”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated Recovery: March 2027”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company, Oct 21, 2026
DRUG
Dilaudid
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Oct 31, 2017
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 21, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 26 presentations: 7 unavailable · 3 limited · 16 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection. 26 presentations from 4 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC10 presentations · 4 unavailable · 6 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-386-1300

  • .2 mg/1 mL

    Dilaudid, Injection, .2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-121-11)

    Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 76045-121-11Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 1 mg/1 mL

    Dilaudid, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-009-06)

    Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 76045-009-06Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 1 mg/1 mL

    Dilaudid, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-009-11)

    Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 76045-009-11Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Dilaudid, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 76045-010-11)

    Next release not available at this time. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 76045-010-11Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 1 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-852-25)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-852-25Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-851-10Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-15)

    Check wholesaler for inventory

    NDC 63323-851-15Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-851-50)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-851-50Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-853-25)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-853-25Reverified

    Available

  • 4 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-854-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-854-10Reverified

    Available

Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.2 presentations · 1 unavailable · 1 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 800-631-2174

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-6254-01)

    Product temporarily on backorder. Additional lots will be available in the November 2026 timeframe.

    NDC 0641-6254-01Revised

    Unavailable

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0641-0121-25)

    Additional lots are scheduled for manufacturing to meet demand. Product will be made available as it is released.

    NDC 0641-0121-25Reverified

    Available

Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company11 presentations · 2 unavailable · 2 limited · 7 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 844-646-4398

  • 0.25 mg/ 0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle)

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 0.25 mg/ 0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle) (NDC 0409-1805-01)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-1805-01Revised

    Unavailable

  • 1 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1283-37)

    Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-1283-37Revised

    Unavailable

  • 0.5 mg/0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle)

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 0.5 mg/0.5 mL NexJect™ Single-dose Syringe Luer Lock (no needle) (NDC 0409-4264-01)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-4264-01Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1312-36)

    Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-1312-36Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 1 mg/1 mL Syringes

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 1 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1283-31)

    NDC 0409-1283-31Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-2634-01)

    NDC 0409-2634-01Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-3365-10)

    NDC 0409-3365-10Reverified

    Available

  • 2 mg/1 mL Syringes

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 2 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1312-30)

    NDC 0409-1312-30Reverified

    Available

  • 4 mg/1 mL Syringes

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 4 mg/1 mL Syringes (NDC 0409-1304-31)

    NDC 0409-1304-31Reverified

    Available

  • 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL)

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/5 mL (10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2634-05)

    NDC 0409-2634-05Reverified

    Available

  • 500 mg/50 mL (10 mg/mL)

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 500 mg/50 mL (10 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2634-50)

    NDC 0409-2634-50Reverified

    Available

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.3 presentations · 1 limited · 2 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 800-545-8800

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0113-03)

    Estimated recovery: October 2026

    NDC 0703-0113-03Reverified

    Limited Availability

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0018-01)

    NDC 0703-0018-01Reverified

    Available

  • 10 mg/1 mL

    Hydromorphone Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 0703-0110-03)

    NDC 0703-0110-03Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Next release not available at this time. Check wholesalers for inventory.’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Demand increase for the drug
  • Other

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Shown as FDA status, not as suggestions.

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Dilaudid in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Hydromorphone Hydrochloride Injection as currently in shortage: 26 presentations, 7 unavailable and 3 limited.
When will the Dilaudid shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 5 presentations carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Dilaudid?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.