Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection: in shortage

IV bags
A generic iv bag, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Demand increase for the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Other”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated Recovery: December 2027”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company, Oct 21, 2026
DRUG
Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Nov 6, 2017
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 21, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 11 presentations: 3 unavailable · 0 limited · 8 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection. 11 presentations from 3 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.2 presentations · 2 unavailable

Contact (FDA's listing): 800-631-2174

  • 40 mg/1 mL

    Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9252-25)

    Product temporarily on backorder. Additional lots will be available in the February 2027 timeframe.

    NDC 0143-9252-25Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 40 mg/1 mL

    Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 40 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9254-25)

    Additional lots will be available in the November 2026 timeframe. Product will be made available as it is released.

    NDC 0143-9254-25Revised

    Unavailable

Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company5 presentations · 1 unavailable · 4 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 844-646-4398

  • 800 mg/500 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL)

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 800 mg/500 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-7809-24)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-7809-24Revised

    Unavailable

  • 400 mg/250 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL)

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 400 mg/250 mL (1.6 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-0042-12)

    NDC 0409-0042-12Reverified

    Available

  • 800 mg/250 mL (3.2 mg/1 mL)

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 800 mg/250 mL (3.2 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-1858-12)

    NDC 0409-1858-12Reverified

    Available

  • 200 mg/5mL (40 mg/1 mL)

    Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 200 mg/5mL (40 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-5820-01)

    NDC 0409-5820-01Reverified

    Available

  • 400 mg/10mL (40 mg/1 mL)

    Dopamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 400 mg/10mL (40 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-9104-20)

    NDC 0409-9104-20Reverified

    Available

Baxter Healthcare4 presentations · 4 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-229-0001

  • 160 mg/100 mL

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 160 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1007-02)

    NDC 0338-1007-02Reverified

    Available

  • 160 mg/100 mL

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 160 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1007-03)

    NDC 0338-1007-03Reverified

    Available

  • 80 mg/100 mL

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 80 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1005-02)

    NDC 0338-1005-02Reverified

    Available

  • 80 mg/100 mL

    Dopamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 80 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1005-03)

    NDC 0338-1005-03Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Demand increase for the drug
  • Other

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection as currently in shortage: 11 presentations, 3 unavailable and 0 limited.
When will the Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 1 presentation carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Dopamine Hydrochloride Injection?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.