Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Cleocin Phosphate (Clindamycin Phosphate Injection) in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Cleocin Phosphate: in shortage (FDA, Oct 24)

Injections (vials)
A generic injection, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Other”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated recovery: December 2026”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Baxter Healthcare, Oct 16, 2026
DRUG
Cleocin Phosphate
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Mar 21, 2023
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 21, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 17 presentations: 4 unavailable · 3 limited · 10 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Clindamycin Phosphate Injection. 23 presentations from 4 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Baxter Healthcare6 presentations · 1 limited · 5 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-229-0001

  • 900 mg/50 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 900 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-3814-50)

    Estimated recovery: December 2026

    NDC 0338-3814-50Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 300 mg/50 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-3410-50)

    NDC 0338-3410-50Reverified

    Available

  • 300 mg/50 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-9545-50)

    NDC 0338-9545-50Reverified

    Available

  • 300 mg/50 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 300 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-9549-50)

    NDC 0338-9549-50Reverified

    Available

  • 600 mg/50 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 600 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-3612-50)

    NDC 0338-3612-50Revised

    Available

  • 900 mg/50 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 900 mg/50 mL (NDC 0338-9553-50)

    NDC 0338-9553-50Reverified

    Available

Pfizer Inc.3 presentations · 3 unavailable

Contact (FDA's listing): 800-533-4535

  • Strength not stated

    Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, Cleocin Phosphate 300 mg/2 mL (150 mg/mL) (NDC 0009-0870-26)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0009-0870-26Revised

    Unavailable

  • Strength not stated

    Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, Cleocin Phosphate 600 mg/4 mL (150 mg/mL) (NDC 0009-0775-26)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0009-0775-26Revised

    Unavailable

  • Strength not stated

    Cleocin Phosphate, Injection, Cleocin Phosphate 900 mg/6 mL (150 mg/mL) (NDC 0009-0902-18)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0009-0902-18Revised

    Unavailable

Sagent Pharmaceuticals3 presentations · 1 unavailable · 2 limited

Contact (FDA's listing): 866-625-1618

  • 150 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 150 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-115-04)

    Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug

    NDC 25021-115-04Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 150 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 150 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-115-02)

    Selling through remaining short-dated inventory (Dec 2026).

    NDC 25021-115-02Reverified

    Limited Availability

  • 150 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate, Injection, 150 mg/1 mL (NDC 25021-115-06)

    Selling through remaining short-dated inventory (Dec 2026).

    NDC 25021-115-06Reverified

    Limited Availability

Sandoz Inc.5 presentations · 5 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 800-525-8747

  • 12 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 12 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3289-09)

    NDC 0781-3289-09Reverified

    Available

  • 12 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 12 mg/1 mL (NDC 72572-074-24)

    Civica Label

    NDC 72572-074-24Reverified

    Available

  • 18 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 18 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3290-09)

    NDC 0781-3290-09Reverified

    Available

  • 18 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 18 mg/1 mL (NDC 72572-076-24)

    Civica Label

    NDC 72572-076-24Reverified

    Available

  • 6 mg/1 mL

    Clindamycin Phosphate In 5% Dextrose In Plastic Container, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3288-09)

    NDC 0781-3288-09Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Baxter Healthcare · ‘Estimated recovery: December 2026’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Pfizer Inc. · ‘Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2028; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Sagent Pharmaceuticals · ‘Selling through remaining short-dated inventory (Dec 2026).’ · updated Oct 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
  • Other

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Other products with the same ingredient and form

A discontinuation “does not necessarily create a shortage” (FDA).

  • Pfizer Inc. told FDA it will discontinue Cleocin Phosphate (posted ).

    “Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug”

    FDA listing: Clindamycin Phosphate Injection

Shown as FDA status, not as suggestions.

Same active ingredient, other salts or forms

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Cleocin Phosphate in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Clindamycin Phosphate Injection as currently in shortage: 17 presentations, 4 unavailable and 3 limited.
When will the Cleocin Phosphate shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 4 presentations carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Cleocin Phosphate?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.