Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Marcaine (Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection) in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Marcaine: in shortage (FDA, Oct 24)

Injections (vials)
A generic injection, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Delay in shipping of the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Demand increase for the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated recovery: TBD”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, Oct 15, 2026
DRUG
Marcaine
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Feb 20, 2018
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 21, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 57 presentations: 4 unavailable · 5 limited · 48 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection. 62 presentations from 8 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC10 presentations · 2 unavailable · 8 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-386-1300

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-31)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-464-31Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-31)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-466-31Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-17)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-464-17Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-37)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-464-37Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-465-57)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-465-57Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-17)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-466-17Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-37)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-466-37Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-467-57)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-467-57Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-17)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-472-17Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-37)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-472-37Reverified

    Available

Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company20 presentations · 1 unavailable · 19 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 844-646-4398

  • 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL) in Dextrose 8.25%

    Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL) in Dextrose 8.25% (NDC 0409-1761-10)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-1761-10Revised

    Unavailable

  • 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01)

    NDC 0409-1160-01Revised

    Available

  • 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-02)

    NDC 0409-1162-02Reverified

    Available

  • 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-02)

    NDC 0409-1165-02Reverified

    Available

  • 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-01)

    NDC 0409-1159-01Reverified

    Available

  • 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1163-01)

    NDC 0409-1163-01Reverified

    Available

  • 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-01)

    NDC 0409-1162-01Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-1165-01)

    NDC 0409-1165-01Reverified

    Available

  • 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-02)

    NDC 0409-1159-02Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, Bupivacaine Spinal 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL in 8.25% dextrose) (NDC 0409-3613-01)

    NDC 0409-3613-01Reverified

    Available

  • 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL

    Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (NDC 0409-1761-62)

    NDC 0409-1761-62Reverified

    Available

  • 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Marcaine, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1530-01)

    NDC 0409-1530-01Reverified

    Available

  • 225 mg/30 mL

    Marcaine, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (NDC 0409-2253-25)

    Historical NDC: 0409-1582-29

    NDC 0409-2253-25Reverified

    Available

  • 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Marcaine, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2510-01)

    NDC 0409-2510-01Reverified

    Available

  • 250 mg/50 mL

    Marcaine, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (NDC 0409-0525-25)

    Historical NDC: 0409-1610-50

    NDC 0409-0525-25Reverified

    Available

  • 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Marcaine, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-5010-01)

    NDC 0409-5010-01Reverified

    Available

  • 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Marcaine, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-7535-01)

    NDC 0409-7535-01Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01)

    NDC 0409-1160-01Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2253-01)

    Historical NDC: 0409-1582-29

    NDC 0409-2253-01Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 75 mg/10 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-01)

    NDC 0409-1165-01Reverified

    Available

Huons Co., Ltd1 presentation · 1 unavailable

Contact (FDA's listing): +82-2-854-4700 or via email intbiz@huons.com

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 73293-0002-2)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 73293-0002-2Reverified

    Unavailable

Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd.5 presentations · 5 limited

Contact (FDA's listing): 844-824-8426

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-722-32)

    Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler

    NDC 71288-722-32Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-723-52)

    Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler

    NDC 71288-723-52Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-725-32)

    Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler

    NDC 71288-725-32Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-726-52)

    Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler

    NDC 71288-726-52Revised

    Limited Availability

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-728-32)

    Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler

    NDC 71288-728-32Revised

    Limited Availability

Aspiro Pharma Limited6 presentations · 6 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 732-529-0430, customerservice@camberpharma.com

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-32)

    NDC 31722-275-32New

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-34)

    NDC 31722-275-34New

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-32)

    NDC 31722-276-32New

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-34)

    NDC 31722-276-34New

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-32)

    NDC 31722-277-32New

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-34)

    NDC 31722-277-34New

    Available

Eugia US LLC8 presentations · 8 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-238-7880

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-167-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-167-10Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-168-30)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-168-30Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-249-50)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-249-50Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-169-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-169-10Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-170-30)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-170-30Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-250-50)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-250-50Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-171-10)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-171-10Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-172-30)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 55150-172-30Reverified

    Available

ONESOURCE SPECIALTY PTE LTD1 presentation · 1 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-217-8103

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL 5mg / 1mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride PRESERVATIVE FREE, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL 5mg / 1mL (NDC 72266-263-10)

    Distributed by Fosun Pharma USA Inc.

    NDC 72266-263-10Revised

    Available

Somerset Therapeutics, LLC6 presentations · 6 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 732-554-1037

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-01)

    NDC 70069-752-01Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-10)

    NDC 70069-752-10Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-25)

    NDC 70069-752-25Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-01)

    NDC 70069-753-01Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-10)

    NDC 70069-753-10Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-25)

    NDC 70069-753-25Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Estimated recovery: TBD’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Huons Co., Ltd · ‘Estimated recovery: TBD’ · updated Jul 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Delay in shipping of the drug
  • Demand increase for the drug
  • Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
  • Other

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Other products with the same ingredient and form

A discontinuation “does not necessarily create a shortage” (FDA).

  • Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. told FDA it will discontinue Bupivacaine Hydrochloride (posted ).

    “Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug”

    FDA listing: Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Marcaine in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection as currently in shortage: 57 presentations, 4 unavailable and 5 limited.
When will the Marcaine shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 4 presentations carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Marcaine?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.