Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Sensorcaine (Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection) in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Sensorcaine: in shortage (FDA, Oct 24)

Injections (vials)
A generic injection, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Delay in shipping of the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Demand increase for the drug”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated recovery: TBD”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC, Oct 15, 2026
DRUG
Sensorcaine
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Feb 20, 2018
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 21, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 20 presentations: 9 unavailable · 1 limited · 10 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection. 20 presentations from 2 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC8 presentations · 3 unavailable · 5 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-386-1300

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-461-57)

    Next release November 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 63323-461-57Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-462-31)

    Estimated recovery: TBD

    NDC 63323-462-31Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-463-57)

    Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.

    NDC 63323-463-57Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-468-17)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-468-17Reverified

    Available

  • 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-468-37)

    Check wholesaler for inventory

    NDC 63323-468-37Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-462-17)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-462-17Reverified

    Available

  • 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-462-37)

    Check wholesalers for inventory

    NDC 63323-462-37Reverified

    Available

  • 7.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL

    Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL; .005 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-460-37)

    Check wholesaler for inventory

    NDC 63323-460-37Reverified

    Available

Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company12 presentations · 6 unavailable · 1 limited · 5 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 844-646-4398

  • 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9042-01)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-9042-01Revised

    Unavailable

  • 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9046-01)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-9046-01Revised

    Unavailable

  • 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9045-01)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-9045-01Revised

    Unavailable

  • 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride And Epinephrine, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9042-17)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-9042-17Revised

    Unavailable

  • 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine, Injection, 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9043-01)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-9043-01Revised

    Unavailable

  • 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL)

    Bupivacaine Hydrochloride and Epinephrine, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-9045-17)

    Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-9045-17Revised

    Unavailable

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1752-50)

    Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay

    NDC 0409-1752-50Revised

    Limited Availability

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1749-29)

    NDC 0409-1749-29Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1746-10)

    NDC 0409-1746-10Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1755-50)

    NDC 0409-1755-50Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1749-10)

    NDC 0409-1749-10Reverified

    Available

  • Strength not stated

    Marcaine With Epinephrine, Injection, Marcaine with Epinephrine 1:200,000 as the bitartrate 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL 1:200,000) (NDC 0409-1746-30)

    NDC 0409-1746-30Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Estimated recovery: TBD’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Next release November 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · ‘Next release October 2026. Check wholesalers for inventory.’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company · ‘Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay’ · updated Oct 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Delay in shipping of the drug
  • Demand increase for the drug
  • Other

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Sensorcaine in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Epinephrine Bitartrate Injection as currently in shortage: 20 presentations, 9 unavailable and 1 limited.
When will the Sensorcaine shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 8 presentations carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Sensorcaine?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.