Skip to main content
FDA Shortage Check

Is Travasol (Amino Acid Injection) in shortage?

Label: plusbeauxjours · shortage label · not a prescription, not a pharmacy, not FDA

IN SHORTAGE

Travasol: in shortage (FDA, Oct 24)

IV bags
A generic iv bag, not your medicine. We draw dosage forms, not products, and never pills you could match to yours.
  • Reason: “Shortage of an active ingredient”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Reason: “Shortage of an inactive ingredient component”. FDA shortage reason (FDASIA), reported by the manufacturer
  • Estimate: “Estimated recovery: December 2026”. Manufacturer’s estimate, Baxter Healthcare, Oct 16, 2026
DRUG
Travasol
FDA LISTING
FORM
injection
STATUS
Currently in Shortage
FIRST POSTED
Dec 8, 2020
LAST FDA UPDATE
Oct 19, 2026
AS OF
Oct 24, 2026
SOURCE

FDA lists 16 presentations: 3 unavailable · 0 limited · 13 available.

FDA Drug Shortages checked Oct 24, 2026, 21:05 ET · FDA updates daily · manufacturer-reported

Information from FDA’s drug shortage list, reported by manufacturers. Not medical advice. Don’t stop, change or ration a medicine without talking to your prescriber or pharmacist.

FDA's listing, word for word: Amino Acid Injection. 16 presentations from 3 makers.

Check your own medication, form and strength

What to ask at the counter

  1. Is this a supply problem at this pharmacy, or everywhere? Could another pharmacy have it? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  2. Is my strength or the maker you stock affected? FDA list, by presentation
  3. Is there an alternative to this medicine I should ask my prescriber about? FDA consumer FAQ (opens in a new tab)
  4. When should I check back, or can you order it?

FDA: “talk with your health care provider or pharmacist for other treatment options during the shortage.” FDA Drug Shortages page (opens in a new tab)

This listing on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)Report a shortage to FDA: drugshortages@fda.hhs.gov

Every presentation FDA lists, by maker

Availability is FDA's text for each package, as the manufacturer reported it. Makers with unavailable or limited packages come first.

Baxter Healthcare9 presentations · 1 unavailable · 8 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 888-229-0001

  • 2.07 g/100 mL; 1.15 g/100 mL; 1.03 g/100 mL; 480 mg/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 730 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL; 400 mg/100 mL; 560 mg/100 mL; 680 mg/100 mL; 500 mg/100 mL; 420 mg/100 mL; 180 mg/100 mL; 40 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL

    Travasol, Injection, 2.07 g/100 mL; 1.15 g/100 mL; 1.03 g/100 mL; 480 mg/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 730 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL; 400 mg/100 mL; 560 mg/100 mL; 680 mg/100 mL; 500 mg/100 mL; 420 mg/100 mL; 180 mg/100 mL; 40 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-0644-03)

    Estimated recovery: December 2026

    NDC 0338-0644-03Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 0.15

    Clinisol 15% Sulfite Free In Plastic Container, Injection, 0.15 (NDC 0338-0502-03)

    NDC 0338-0502-03Reverified

    Available

  • 0.15

    Clinisol 15% Sulfite Free In Plastic Container, Injection, 0.15 (NDC 0338-0502-06)

    NDC 0338-0502-06Reverified

    Available

  • 2.76 g/100 mL; 1.96 g/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 1.02 g/100 mL; 2.06 g/100 mL; 1.18 g/100 mL; 1.08 g/100 mL; 1.08 g/100 mL; 1.35 g/100 mL; 760 mg/100 mL; 1 g/100 mL; 1.34 g/100 mL; 1.02 g/100 mL; 980 mg/100 mL; 320 mg/100 mL; 50 mg/100 mL; 1.44 g/100 mL

    PROSOL 20% SULFITE FREE IN PLASTIC CONTAINER, Injection, 2.76 g/100 mL; 1.96 g/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 1.02 g/100 mL; 2.06 g/100 mL; 1.18 g/100 mL; 1.08 g/100 mL; 1.08 g/100 mL; 1.35 g/100 mL; 760 mg/100 mL; 1 g/100 mL; 1.34 g/100 mL; 1.02 g/100 mL; 980 mg/100 mL; 320 mg/100 mL; 50 mg/100 mL; 1.44 g/100 mL (NDC 0338-0499-06)

    NDC 0338-0499-06Reverified

    Available

  • 0.1

    Premasol 10% Sulfite Free in VIAFLEX Plastic Container, Injection, 0.1 (NDC 0338-1130-03)

    NDC 0338-1130-03Reverified

    Available

  • 0.1

    Premasol 10% Sulfite Free in VIAFLEX Plastic Container, Injection, 0.1 (NDC 0338-1130-04)

    NDC 0338-1130-04Reverified

    Available

  • 0.1

    Premasol 10% Sulfite Free in VIAFLEX Plastic Container, Injection, 0.1 (NDC 0338-1130-06)

    NDC 0338-1130-06Reverified

    Available

  • 2.07 g/100 mL; 1.15 g/100 mL; 1.03 g/100 mL; 480 mg/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 730 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL; 400 mg/100 mL; 560 mg/100 mL; 680 mg/100 mL; 500 mg/100 mL; 420 mg/100 mL; 180 mg/100 mL; 40 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL

    Travasol, Injection, 2.07 g/100 mL; 1.15 g/100 mL; 1.03 g/100 mL; 480 mg/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 730 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL; 400 mg/100 mL; 560 mg/100 mL; 680 mg/100 mL; 500 mg/100 mL; 420 mg/100 mL; 180 mg/100 mL; 40 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-0644-04)

    NDC 0338-0644-04Reverified

    Available

  • 2.07 g/100 mL; 1.15 g/100 mL; 1.03 g/100 mL; 480 mg/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 730 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL; 400 mg/100 mL; 560 mg/100 mL; 680 mg/100 mL; 500 mg/100 mL; 420 mg/100 mL; 180 mg/100 mL; 40 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL

    Travasol, Injection, 2.07 g/100 mL; 1.15 g/100 mL; 1.03 g/100 mL; 480 mg/100 mL; 600 mg/100 mL; 730 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL; 400 mg/100 mL; 560 mg/100 mL; 680 mg/100 mL; 500 mg/100 mL; 420 mg/100 mL; 180 mg/100 mL; 40 mg/100 mL; 580 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-0644-06)

    NDC 0338-0644-06Reverified

    Available

Otsuka ICU Medical LLC4 presentations · 2 unavailable · 2 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 1-866-829-9025 or ProductAvailability@icumed.com

  • 0.1

    Aminosyn-PF 10%, Injection, 0.1 (NDC 0990-4179-05)

    Estimated recovery: TBD. This product is distributed by ICU Medical. For questions regarding this product, please contact ICU Medical.

    NDC 0990-4179-05Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 0.07

    Aminosyn-PF 7%, Injection, 0.07 (NDC 0990-4178-03)

    Estimated recovery: TBD. This product is distributed by ICU Medical. For questions regarding this product, please contact ICU Medical.

    NDC 0990-4178-03Reverified

    Unavailable

  • 0.1

    Aminosyn II 10% In Plastic Container, Injection, 0.1 (NDC 0990-7172-17)

    This product is distributed by ICU Medical. For questions regarding this product, please contact ICU Medical.

    NDC 0990-7172-17Reverified

    Available

  • 0.15

    Aminosyn II 15% In Plastic Container, Injection, 0.15 (NDC 0990-7171-17)

    This product is distributed by ICU Medical. For questions regarding this product, please contact ICU Medical.

    NDC 0990-7171-17Reverified

    Available

B. Braun Medical Inc.3 presentations · 3 available or not stated

Contact (FDA's listing): 800-227-2862

  • 0.15

    Plenamine, Injection, 0.15 (NDC 0264-4500-00)

    NDC 0264-4500-00Reverified

    Available

  • 0.15

    Plenamine, Injection, 0.15 (NDC 0264-4500-05)

    NDC 0264-4500-05Reverified

    Available

  • 0.1

    TrophAmine 10%, Injection, 0.1 (NDC 0264-1933-10)

    NDC 0264-1933-10Reverified

    Available

What the manufacturers told FDA

  • Baxter Healthcare · ‘Estimated recovery: December 2026’ · updated Oct 2026
  • Otsuka ICU Medical LLC · ‘Estimated recovery: TBD. This product is distributed by ICU Medical. For questions regarding this product, please contact ICU Medical.’ · updated Oct 2026

More on FDA ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Reason for the shortage (FDASIA)

  • Shortage of an active ingredient
  • Shortage of an inactive ingredient component

As reported by the manufacturer under the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act.

Alternatives

FDA lists none: “Providing a list of alternative drug products for a drug in shortage is part of the ‘practice of medicine.’ FDA does not regulate the practice of medicine.” Your prescriber or pharmacist can talk through options with you. ASHP also tracks shortages and suggested alternatives (different criteria) ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Questions

Is Travasol in shortage?
Yes. As of Oct 24, 2026, FDA lists Amino Acid Injection as currently in shortage: 16 presentations, 3 unavailable and 0 limited.
When will the Travasol shortage end?
FDA gives no end date. 3 presentations carry a manufacturer’s own estimate, quoted on this page with its date.
Does FDA list alternatives to Travasol?
No. FDA calls a list of alternatives part of the ‘practice of medicine’. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber.